6 Friday Finds – August 30

Labor Day weekend started early on Friday with some fresh releases. As summer winds down to its end, these releases are keeping things hot on this New Music Friday. Plenty of new music was released, but here are our favorite songs and albums from August 30.

Party on party people.


1. “Thanks, I Hate It” by Simple Creatures

“Thanks, I Hate It” is the new single from the All Time Low’s Alex Gaskgarth and blink-182’s Mark Hoppus side project. We’ve been keeping an eye on Simple Creatures for a while. This release is the second they’ve released since their debut self-titled EP. Could there be another release in the future?

2. Twelve Nudes by Ezra Furman

Ezra Furman blew us out of the water with his previous album Transangelic Exodus. His lyrics cut right to the truth of what plagues any 20-something year old in 2019, tackling things like gender dysphoria, depression and the injustices of capitalism. If you find yourself frozen in place by what’s going on in the world, this album will hit home and help you find some solace.

3. Aloha by Shy Glizzy

With smooth rhythms and even a surprise snippet from Disney’s Lilo & Stitch, Shy Glizzy’s Aloha catches you off guard with vulnerable lyrics and smooth melodies. The stand out song is “Ohana” which talks about his relationship with his family, mentioning specific moments where those bonds were strengthened or tested.

4. “Warm” by CHARLI XCX feat. HAIM

Charli XCX blew up airwaves earlier this year with her hit song “1999” featuring Shawn Mendes. Since then, she’s been female-focused releases featuring hit starts like Lizzo and Christine and the Queens. This latest song is no exception – a great song that brings out the best in both artists featured.

5. “Kiss & Tell” by Angels & Airwaves

This release will send emo hearts are SCREAMING!! While Angels & Airwaves haven’t released a full ep since 2017, “Kiss & Tell” is their second single in 2019 – which hints to an album sometime in the near future. While there are some small notable differences, the new Angels & Airwaves is exactly what those who are still emo at heart would want them to sound like.

6. Breakup Season by Future Teens

It’s hard to fit this album into just one genre. The vocals sound Broadway while the chords sound pop-punk and the melodies sound pop. But with it’s soft opener and honest, Breakup Season is the bummer pop-punk record that you needed in your life. As one season changes into the next, Breakup Season is the perfect album to take you from one season to the next.

Think we missed something? Have a Friday Find of your own? Leave it in the comments or tag us on Twitter @MusicUnlabeled.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: