REVIEW: “Pilot” by Hot Mulligan


The Michigan punks Hot Mulligan are back with their debut full-length project, Pilot. In the process, they might have just unleashed one of the best pop punk records of this year.

Coming off of their well-received 2017 EP release, Opportunities, the Lansing-based four piece picked up right where they left off with Pilots. It’s an 11 track album full of not only catchy, but harmonious punk songs that help cement their mark on the scene.

Closing their 2017 EP with a poignant acoustic track for “Deluxe Capacitor,” the boys in Hot Mulligan opened their newest endeavor with a revamped guitar-driven version of the song that helps establish their energetic pop-punk sound with desperate vocals for the coming tracks.

Songs like “The Soundtrack to Missing Slam Dunk” and “How Do You Know It’s Not Armadillo Shells?” create the perfect mesh of infectious melodies and poppy undertones. While songs like “Pluto Was Never Really A Planet Either Even” show a vulnerable side of the band with lyrics that show a raw emotion, making everything feel real.

For those who have never heard a single track from the band, or really any type of punk music in general, Pilot is the best introductory record to pick up. It’s the perfect mix of everything a pop-punk record needs – angsty vocals, guitar driven rifts and track names that will leave you scratching your head in bewilderment.

The album feels like a collective blend of a Tell All Your Friends-era Taking Back Sunday to a Let It Enfold You-era Senses Fail. While welcome, they also manage to keep the distinctive sound of some of the scenes current favs like Knuckle Puck or Tiny Moving Parts.

They may sound like greats in the alternative scene, but don’t let that fool you into believing these guys are just another punk band. They’ve got their own unique voice, something that can be challenging in an age where a lot of bands sound like the next.

Pilot carries Hot Mulligan’s signature style of punk while still giving the band’s sound a new breath of fresh air for their full-length endeavor. This album helps establish Hot Mulligan as a band to watch and we suggest not sleeping on these guys any longer.


Pilot Tracklisting:

  1. Deluxe Capacitor
  2. All You Wanted By Michelle Branch
  3. I Hate The Gooey Disk
  4. The Soundtrack To Missing A Slam Dunk
  5. Pluto Was Never Really A Planet Either Even
  6. Wes Dault Can’t Find The Madison Falcon
  7. *whispers* Thank You
  8. Good Ol’ Mr. Rags
  9. Scream Mountain
  10. How Do You Know It’s Not Armadillo Shells?
  11. There Was A Semi Fight On I-69

Pilot is out now via No Sleep Records. You can purchase the album here.

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: