Rock n Roll Hall of Fame 2015 Inductees Announced

This Tuesday, the Rock n Roll Hall of Fame 2015 Inductees were officially announced! The inductees were The Paul Butterfield Blues Band, Green Day, Joan Jett and the Blackhearts, Lou Reed, Stevie Ray Vaughn and Double Trouble, and Bill Withers. Ringo Starr will also receive the Award for Musical Excellence.

Being inducted into the Rock n Roll Hall of Fame is a huge honor, as all of the artists are well aware of. Joan Jett said, “It’s surreal and very humbling” when she talked to Rolling Stone about the induction.

“It’s a culmination of all you’ve dreamed about doing as a musician. I’ve always been hopeful [that I’d get in] because I think it’s an incredible acknowledgment. I’m very proud to be with all these great musicians.”

The Rolling Stone also spoke to the other inducted artists; including Green Day front man Billie Joe Armstrong, who mentioned how he had to “go for a walk” when he heard the news, and Bill Withers. However, there are artists that are being inducted posthumously; like Stevie Ray Vaughn and Lou Reed, who’s band The Velvet Underground was inducted in 1996.

Music is a very powerful and emotional thing. Perhaps as a result, the rock hall nominations and inductees are always a very sensitive subject among music lovers. Nine Inch Nails, Kraftwork, N.W.A., Chic, Sting, and the Smiths are all the artists who just didn’t make the cut this year. And there were lots of cries in the comments that the Smiths should have been inducted, sometimes even calling out different bands and artists for not deserving it.

But the band that’s getting the most flack? That would be Green Day, who is being inducted on their first year of eligibility. In fact, they got so much flack that Alternative Press felt obligated to write a feature article about why Green Day deserved their induction.

The Rock n Roll Hall of Fame is filled with artists who have helped the spread and growth of music as a whole, and have done it with a passion that burns brighter than lighters and cell phones at rock concerts. And this year, there isn’t a single artist being inducted that doesn’t fit that description perfectly.

The induction ceremony will take place in Cleveland’s Public Hall on April 18th 2015. Tickets are available for purchase starting at 10am on December 18th, 2014, and the ceremony will broadcast on HBO in May.

One thought on “Rock n Roll Hall of Fame 2015 Inductees Announced

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: